Logo for Nippon Professional Baseball
NPB: 1936- (84 seasons)
Founded as the Japan Occupational Baseball League, often referred to as "Japanese baseball", or locally, Puro Yakyū (プロ野球).
Logo for Korean Professional Baseball
KBO: 1982- (38 seasons)
Originally called the Korea Baseball Championship, is the highest level league of baseball in South Korea.
Logo for Chinese Professional Baseball League
CPBL: 1989- (31 seasons)
Gained popularity when Taiwanese little league teams won numerous World Series championships in the 1970s and 1980s.
Logo for Australian Baseball League
AUBL: 1989- (31 seasons)
The league is the owner of each team and players are paid in a number of tiers based on experience level.
Logo for Taiwan Major League
TML: 1997-2003 (7 seasons)
Established by TV tycoon after dispute over broadcasting rights. The CPBL absorbed the TML in 2003.
Logo for China Baseball League
CHBL: 2002-2016 (15 seasons)
Professional baseball league under the administration of Chinese Baseball Association, founded in 2002.
Logo for Baseball Philippines
BP: 2007-2012 (6 seasons)
Disbanded in 2012, but through universities and other private organizations, baseball continues to thrive.

Subscribe to our monthly Sports History Newsletter