Milwaukee Brewers Logo
Joined the American League as an expansion team to begin the 1969 season. Left Seattle and relocated to Milwaukee to begin the 1970 season. Moved to the National League in 1998 in order to faciliate MLB divisional realignment.
Green Bay Packers Logo
🏈 NFL: 1919-2020 102 13
The third-oldest franchise in the NFL, dating back to 1919, the franchise traces its lineage to other semi-professional teams in Green Bay dating back to 1896.
Milwaukee Bucks Logo
🏀 NBA: 1969-2020 52 1
The team was founded in 1968 as an expansion team, and play at the Fiserv Forum. Former U.S. Senator Herb Kohl was the long-time owner of the team, but on April 16, 2014, a group led by billionaire he...

Defunct Teams

Teams that have folded or moved away from the Milwaukee area.
F i l t e r   &   S o r t 
Milwaukee Braves Logo
⚾ MLB: 1953-1965 13 1
Left the National Association to become one of 8 founding clubs of the NL in 1876. Left Boston and relocated to Milwaukee in 1953. Left Milwaukee to become the Atlanta Braves in 1966.
Milwaukee Hawks Logo
The team's origins can be traced to the establishment of the Buffalo Bisons in 1946 in Buffalo, New York, a member of the National Basketball League (NBL) owned by Ben Kerner and Leo Ferris. After 38 ...
Sheboygan Red Skins Logo
The Redskins played in three professional leagues and as an independent team. The leagues were, in order, the National Basketball League (NBL); the National Basketball Association (charter member), an...
Oshkosh All-Stars Logo
🏀 NBL: 1938-1949 12 3
The Oshkosh All-Stars were a professional basketball team based in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. Founded in 1929 by Lonnie Darling, the team was a member of the National Basketball League, a forerunner to the N...
Milwaukee Chiefs Logo
The Milwaukee Chiefs were a professional American football team based in Wisconsin that competed in the third American Football League in 1940 and in 1941. The team played its home games in the Dairy...
Milwaukee Badgers Logo
The Milwaukee Badgers were a professional American football team, based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, that played in the National Football League from 1922 to 1926. The team played its home games at Athlet...
Racine Tornadoes Logo
In 1915, the Racine Regulars formed Wisconsin's first important semi-professional team. They primarily played against teams from Illinois and Indiana. The team became known as the Racine Battery C in ...
Kenosha Maroons Logo
The Toledo Maroons were a professional American football team based in Toledo, Ohio in the National Football League in 1922 and 1923. Prior to joining the NFL, the Maroons played in the unofficial "Oh...
Milwaukee Brewers Logo
Began as Milwaukee Brewers in 1894 and were one of the original AL franchises in 1901. Became St. Louis Browns in 1902 and relocated to Baltimore to become Orioles in 1954.
Milwaukee Brewers Logo
Joined the Union Association to replace the Wilmington Quicksteps in late September 1884, only to play a few games before disbanding when the Association folded at the end of the season.
The early history of sports contains hundreds of teams that appeared for only 1 or 2 seasons before folding. Most of these teams have no historical photographs or articles, so are omitted from this list to reduce clutter. To view a comprehensive list of all defunct teams, browse to the early leagues section for baseball, football, basketball, or hockey.