Other football leagues in 1969:    

In 1970, the AFL was absorbed into the NFL and the league reorganized with the ten AFL franchises along with three existing NFL teams: the Baltimore Colts, the Cleveland Browns, and the Pittsburgh Steelers, becoming part of the newly formed American Football Conference.

The AFL and the NFL champions faced each other in Super Bowl IV at the end of the season to determine an overall champion.

1969 AFL Champions
Commissioner Pete Rozelle
League President Milt Woodard
Milt Woodard
Players' President Jack Kemp
Subscribe to our Sports History Newsletter

1 Comment