Logo for Major League Baseball (MLB)

Major League Baseball History

The early years of the NL were tumultuous, with threats from rival leagues and a rebellion by players against the hated "reserve clause", which restricted the free movement of players between clubs. Competitor leagues formed regularly and also disbanded regularly. The most successful was the American Association (1882–1891), sometimes called the "beer and whiskey league" for its tolerance of the (read more)

Since 1903, the AL and NL champions meet at the end of the season in the World Series. Historically, that was the only time that the leagues would meet. Starting in 1997, the MLB introduced regular season interleague play, although most of the awards and statistical leaders are still maintained separately for each league.
Logo for American League
AL: 1901- (119 seasons)

The "Junior Circuit" claimed Major League status 25 years after the formation of the NL.

Logo for National League
NL: 1876- (144 seasons)

The "Senior Circuit" is the world's oldest professional team sports league still in existence today.