National Hockey League History

NHL: 1918- (102 seasons)

The NHL was founded in 1917 as a replacement to the NHA. After unsuccessfully attempting to resolve disputes with Eddie Livingstone, owner of the Toronto Blueshirts, executives of the three other NHA franchises suspended the NHA, and formed the National Hockey League (NHL). The NHL's first quarter-century saw the (read more)